Get your free website from Spanglefish

What the Parish Council does

The Parish Council consists of nine councillors who volunteer their services. They are elected once every four years by residents of the Parish. Anyone can stand in the election. You just need a proposer, a seconder and a nomination form. There are no party politics involved, unlike in the District and County Councils. There is also a permanent paid clerk who works 12 hours a week from the Parish Council office in the village hall.

Each member is given a particular responsibility, such as transport, footpaths, finance or recreation. In addition there is a planning sub committee consisting of five councillors that considers all planning applications made within the parish. The Council’s opinion on each application is returned to the District Council, which then makes the final decision.

The Council agrees the amount of money needed to carry out its various responsibilities such as mowing the Rec and King’s Meadow, insurance, the salary of the clerk to the Council and donations to village bodies. This is known as the precept. It is collected by SODC as part of the council tax. Currently it is about £29,220 a year. For large projects, such as the Jubilee Pavilion, grants can be obtained by the Council. The District and County Councils have the tasks of maintaining the road verges, the footpaths and repairing pot holes.

The Council offers donations to Parish organicsations. The Donation Policy and Application Form can be found HERE.


The Council meets on the third Tuesday of each month, (except August), in the Church Room at 7.30 pm. The agenda always starts with public participation when parishioners can raise any issue with the Council. Each month the Council receives reports from the County and District Councillors who attend the meeting. Typical issues include:

  • planning applications
  • condition of roadways and footpaths
  • planning how the precept is spent
  • recreational and environmental matters
  • deciding on new playground equipment for the Rec and King’s Meadow
  • bus services and bus shelters
  • rural health
  • contact with most village committees
  • all matters concerning our village.

The Council is consulted on a variety of issues by the District and County Council, by bodies such as Thames Water and by central government. Where these are important issues, for example, crime prevention, the Core Strategy, and bus services, there will be a discussion so that the Council can agree its position.

Each year in late April there is an Annual Parish Council Meeting to report to the Parish on the year’s activities and to invite your suggestions for the coming year. We would warmly encourage all parishioners to attend.

A councillor’s work is interesting and lies at the heart of village life. Our democracy demands participation. Without it the way of life we know is in danger of decline. Our Parish Council is the first rung in our system of government. Help, support and participate all you can!


The Parish Councillors' Register of Interests.


Standing Orders and Good Councillor Guide





The Council

Chairperson | Sue Robson
Tel: 07905 493690
Address: Hope Cottage Mackney Lane Brightwell-cum-Sotwell OX10 0SQ

Vice Chair | Mrs Helen Baines
Tel: 01491 837047
Address: The School House, West End, OX10 0RY

Parish Council responsibilities:
Planning Committee
Councillor | Mrs Celia Collett
Tel: 01491 835988
Address: Thistledown, The Square, OX10 0SB

Parish Council responsibilities:
Earth Trust
Planning Committee
Neighbourhood Plan
Councillor | Jason Debney
Tel: 01491 834782
Address: The Knowle Bakers Lane Brightwell-cum-Sotwell OX10 0PU

Parish Council responsibilities:
Grass Verges
Neighbourhood Plan
Planning Committee
Councillor | Mr David Fox
Tel: 01491 833542
Address: Allnuts, The Street, OX10 0RR

Parish Council responsibilities:
Kings Meadow and Recreation Ground
Planning Committee (Chairman)
Councillor | Sarah Jackson
Tel: 01491 833660
Address: Duffield House West End Brightwell-cum-Sotwell OX10 0RY

Councillor | Graham Gilgrass
Tel: 01491 838854
Address: 2 Sotwell Manor Bakers Lane Brightwell-cum-Sotwell OX10 0PX

Councillor | Mr Alec McGivan
Address: The Street Cottage Brightwell Street Brightwell-cum-Sotwell OX10 0RT

Parish Council responsibilities:
Planning Committee
Councillor | Mr Robert Nielsen (Shillingford Ward)
Address: Bright well Vineyard Brightwell-cum-Sotwell OX10 8LJ

Parish Council responsibilities:
Mineral Strategy
Clerk | Lucy Dalby
Tel: 01491 826968
Email: or
Address: The Parish Office The Village Hall, West End, Brightwell-cum-Sotwell, OX10 0RY

Click for Map
site map | cookie policy | privacy policy